### MODERN US MAP REGIONS WITH STATES AND CAPITOLS

Created by: Ms. Antonson-Milanovich

<u>The 50 States and Their Capitals</u>: On this sheet, they are listed by their state name first to help you locate them with greater ease. However, when writing the capital of any state, you should always write them in the following format: Capital Name, State Name (i.e. Phoenix, Arizona).

**<u>DIRECTIONS</u>**: Using the attached map(s), please create a reference map using FIVE different colors to represent the five different regions on the map labeling each state and capital fully as well. There are multiple copies in case you make a mistake or want to create more than one.

#### **Region One**

- 1. Maine Augusta
- 1. New Hampshire Concord
- 2. Vermont Montpelier
- 3. Massachusetts Boston
- 4. Rhode Island Providence
- 5. Connecticut Hartford
- 6. New York Albany
- 7. New Jersey Trenton
- 8. Delaware Dover
- 9. Pennsylvania Harrisburg

## **Region Three**

- 1. Kentucky Frankfort
- 2. Ohio Columbus
- 3. Michigan Lansing
- 4. Indiana Indianapolis
- 5. Illinois Springfield
- 6. Wisconsin Madison
- 7. Minnesota St. Paul
- 8. Iowa Des Moines
- 9. Missouri Jefferson City
- 10. Arkansas Little Rock

#### **Region Two**

- 1. Maryland Annapolis
- 2. West Virginia Charleston
- 3. North Carolina Raleigh
- 4. South Carolina Columbia
- 5. Georgia Atlanta
- 6. Florida Tallahassee
- 7. Alabama Montgomery
- 8. Mississippi Jackson
- 9. Tennessee Nashville
- 10. Virginia Richmond

## **Region Four**

- 1. Louisiana Baton Rouge
- 2. Texas Austin
- 3. Oklahoma Oklahoma City
- 4. Kansas Topeka
- 5. Nebraska Lincoln
- 6. South Dakota Pierre
- 7. North Dakota Bismarck
- 8. Montana Helena
- 9. Wyoming Cheyenne
- 10. Colorado Denver

# **Region Five**

- 1. New Mexico Santa Fe
- 2. Utah Salt Lake City
- 3. Nevada Carson City
- 4. California Sacramento
- 5. Idaho Boise
- 6. Oregon Salem
- 7. Washington Olympia
- 8. Arizona Phoenix
- 9. Alaska Juneau
- 10. Hawaii Honolulu





